
Do I need a producer certificate to sell eggs?
The Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA) 
requires a producer certificate to sell eggs produced in 
Nevada. Health departments may also require 
additional permits or licenses to sell your eggs. If you 
are buying eggs from another producer and reselling 
them or selling eggs from another state you will need a 
Vendor Certificate.
Is there a fee for producer certificates?
An application fee is required. The fee is $50 for the 
first year and $30 each year to renew. The producer 
certificate application link can be found at: agri. 
nv.gov/producer_certificate.
Will there be an inspection?
The NDA will visit your farm to verify the information 
on your application and egg production questionnaire is 
correct. Plan ahead as the wait for an inspection can 
take up to 30 days.

What is the required “safe handling 
instruction”?
The statement, “Safe Handling Instructions: To 
prevent illness from bacteria keep eggs refrigerated, 
cook eggs until yokes are firm, and cook foods 
containing eggs thoroughly” is required by the Food 
and Drug Administration (FDA) to reduce the risk of 
illness from pathogens like salmonella.
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What are the minimum requirements to sell
eggs?
It is unlawful to sell eggs in Nevada that do not meet 
the minimum requirements specified in Nevada 
Revised Statute (NRS) 583.110 through 583.210. Eggs 
must be graded for size and quality and labeled 
accordingly. Eggs must meet the minimum 
requirements for “Grade A.” Containers must be 
labeled with egg size and grade, the name and address 
of the producer and the safe handling statement 
required by the FDA. 
Eggs must also be clean, which is defined by Nevada 
Administrative Code (NAC) as “free of foreign material 
and stains.” Eggs are considered clean if it has only very 
small specs or stains from a cage, which do not detract 
from the appearance of the egg. Please refer to the USDA 
Grading Manual for more information.

What does “grading” mean?
“Grading” is a classification system based on interior 
and exterior quality and is designated by the letters 
AA, A and B. The eggs are examined for interior 
characteristics either by “candling,” which works by 
illuminating the interior of an egg to see inside the 
shell or by breaking them open and exterior 
characteristics by visually examining the outside of 
the egg. They are then sorted according to weight 
(size). Grade A is the grade most often sold in store 
and is the minimum grade that can be sold in Nevada.

http://agri.nv.gov/producer_certificate
http://agri.nv.gov/producer_certificate
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What is candling?
Candling originated as a method to verify an egg 
contained a developing embryo. Candling is also used 
as a step in grading eggs that lets you look inside 
the egg without breaking it to judge its quality and 
freshness. Long ago, this was done by holding the egg 
tip before a candle. Eggs are rotated in front of a 
bright light so the interior can be seen. This allows 
you to check the size of the air cell at the blunt end 
with an air cell gauge. Imperfections such as cracks 
and checks in the shell, blood spots and meat spots in 
the yolk can also be seen in this way.
Where can I buy a candler?
Many books and websites on raising chickens include 
information about candling eggs and how to build 
your own candler using light bulbs or flashlights. 
Some feed stores sell candlers although they may 
have to special order one for you. 
Do I have to date my egg cartons?
Although not required by federal or state law, it is 
recommended to include a pack date, sell by, use by, 
best if used by or other date which informs the buyer 
when the eggs were packed or should be used. If date
coding is used, certain rules must be followed. If an 
expiration date is used, it must be printed in month/
day format and preceded by the appropriate prefix, for 
example, “EXP,” “Sell by,” or “Not to be sold after.” 
Expiration dates can be no more than 30 days from the 
day the eggs were packed in a carton.

 

You may also 
use the terms “Use by,” “Use before” or “Best before” 
to indicate the period that the eggs should be 
consumed before overall quality diminishes. Code 
dating using these terms may not exceed 45 days 
including the day the eggs were packed into the 
carton.

If my hens produce eggs of various sizes,
do I have to sell them separately? 
You may label your eggs as “assorted sizes” or 
“mixed sizes.” However, if you used the terms 
“jumbo,” “extra-large,” “large,” “medium” or “small,” 
the eggs must meet the minimum weight per dozen 
requirements required by Nevada regulations.

What is the air cell? Why is it important?
The air cell is the empty space between the white and 
the eggshell at the large end of the egg. The air cell is 
used to determine freshness – generally speaking, the 
smaller the air cell, the fresher the egg.

Can I use recycled egg cartons?
When you sell eggs away from your farm, it is 
recommended new, properly labeled cartons are 
used. Because eggs are considered to be a hazardous 
food, new cartons are safer than recycled cartons. 

Can I sell my eggs in bulk (not cartons)?
Eggs can be sold in bulk. When eggs are sold from 
flats, baskets, boxes, buckets or other bulk containers, 
a label or a placard must be posted in a visible place 
stating the grade and size, the farm name and address 
and the safe handling statement.
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